Eye Candy

Image

My good friend Zok recently was looking through his hard drive and came up with these pictures; some of them have a story associated with them, and some are just gorgeous enough that I cannot help but share them.  The one above is a great example;  There are a lot of mountains, all of which offer breathtaking views, but this one is special, in that it symbolizes the end of a multi-year drought.  Afghanistan depends on snow melt for most of it’s water needs.  So much so, that there is a saying: “Afghanistan can do without gold, but it cannot do without snow.  We were delighted last winter to wake up and see this amazing white bounty, after a couple years of little to no snowfall.

Image

Image

I know for most people reading this blog the snow is perhaps a welcome respite from the heat of summer.  This is a picture of my running path.  When I was in the Kabul area, I would try to run this path at least once a week, year around.  Looking at the picture, I realize how insane that really was, especially when snow and ice covered the road, or when the temperatures soared in the summer time.  But I have become somewhat of a fitness nut in recent years; losing 80 pounds in 2007 and managing to keep it off.  When the weather was most miserable, I would look up this trail and tell myself that turning back was giving up, and I was too stubborn to quit. There is a point in one’s life where achieving goals become of supreme importance, and running that hill once a week became one of mine.

Image

Sunsets are not only pretty, but this is the exact sunset that King Amanullah replicated in his royal emblem back in 1919, after the British were finally defeated and removed from Afghanistan, permanently.  Amazingly, this sunset was taken from exactly the spot where King Amanullah modeled his royal emblem, near the site of his palace.

Image

As if by cue, this is the spot the sunset was taken from; the gardens at the base of Amanullah’s palace, known as “Taj Beg”.

Image

The view to the north from Taj Beg palace ruins.

I hope you enjoyed these pictures.  Zok is a great photographer and a good friend.  I know he has a hard drive packed full of them, so if I’m nice, he will cut more loose when he finds the time.

About hotmilkforbreakfast

I am a researcher, a writer, a former soldier, an academic and a lifelong learner. All text and pictures are copyrighted and are not to be used without express permission of the author.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Eye Candy

  1. These photos are really beautiful, thanks for posting them.

    I understand what you mean about being unable to do without snow. In 1977 we moved from South Florida to the high desert of Western Colorado. It rained 6 inches in 3 hours as we packed the car and in the first year of our stay in Colorado we had 4.5 inches of water, including the snowmelt.

    It was then that we understood the ‘water wars’ and the range feuds between the cattlemen and the sheep herders.

    As it turns out, I love the barren deserts but I love the coastal regions more.

    Cheers,
    Allan

  2. P^3 says:

    These are some of the most gorgeous pictures of Afghanistan.

  3. laminah89 says:

    absolutely beautiful!

  4. Zok says:

    Thank you on your complements gang and thanks for uploading them Drew. Yes, there may be a few more photos on my computer’s hard drive :-).
    What all these photos have in common is their location and purpose; i.e., I took all of them in the vicinity of our base. I wanted to create a series of photographs for my colleagues to send to their loved ones and say “this is what surrounds us.” That way they could talk about something other than war and danger, share impressions of positive things. Deployment in a war zone is a tremendously stressful experience, sometimes even more difficult for the family members at home.

    • absolutely breathtaking! especially that moon shot, just love it.

      no matter where you are it is obvious you have found the light and love that surrounds you.

      great photos, great post, thanks for sharing.

      • Zok says:

        Thank you, Molly (what a wonderful name, by the way, Molly Mackenzie; Scotland is my home away from home, so I’m partial).

        Helping my colleagues and servicemen/servicewomen was what kept me going. They were able to send these photos home and share with their families. It helped them a lot. I cannot explain that in a written-words format. One just has to live through it. It is extremely rewarding, though.

Leave a Reply

