There’s a Reason Some Roads Are Less Travelled; or How I Almost Killed My Friends. (Part 2 of a 2 Part Story)

Image

(Continued from part I) We arrived in the Khair Khana, dressed like westerners, and started talking to people we saw on the side of the road.  They were helpful, and lent us a guide, to find the road over the mountain.  While the person who guided us knew exactly where the road was, (in fact, he lived just short of the mountain pass on the road) he was absolutely ignorant of driving cars over the road.

Image

We got to the base of the mountain, and one look up the road made me sick to my stomach.  This road was a cast iron bitch, even looking at it from the start point.  I am more than just a good driver.  Extreme driving conditions are something I’ve trained and done for over 30 years, so if it has wheels, I can make it go in places most people would refuse.  But this road was too narrow, and washed out in key places, and to make it worse, it was a polished marble substrate with thick marble dust from the local mines on top. Amazingly, sickeningly slick.  And it was steep. With twists, turns, and parts where it appeared to just disappear into washouts.

Image

At just that moment, and ancient Toyota station wagon came down the mountain from the pass, and the guide signaled me to quick dallying and get moving.  Assuming if that Toyota could do it, I could, too, I gulped hard and started up the mountain.  The second time I started to slide sideways off the road, I saw a slightly wider part of the road, with a wash out right behind it, and decided that it was time to stop and turn around.  I saw that the wide spot led to someone’s garage, so figured I could do an easy three point turn, park it, and then we could walk the rest of the way up.

Image

Just as I turned hard to do the first point, I lose all traction. I had the brakes on full, and even flipped it into reverse, in four wheel drive low.  I felt that sick feeling as the car starts to slide forward, and just then my clutch fails and the engine stalls.  I pop the emergency brake, and pray fervently as we continue to slide toward a sheer, several hundred foot drop off that passes through row after row of mountain side houses. I look over to Zok, whose eyes are big as saucers, and then back at Nawab and our local guide, who continue to chat animatedly, as if everything was normal.

Image

And then, inexplicably, the car quits sliding forward. For a long count and a half, we sit there, like in the final scene from the original “Italian Job”, with a few pieces of marble sliding forward, and tumbling off the edge of the cliff, into the rows of houses below.

A matter of inches….

Image

Zok jumps out of the car and grabs a large chunk of marble and puts it under my rear tire.  Nawab and the “guide” look at us curiously, not even realizing how close to a fiery death we have just come.  I sit there for a second, and then, with wobbly legs, slowly get out of the car, then collapse against it, as I have no strength to stand anymore.  Zok and I eventually shake it off, and then hug, and talk loudly to each other without hearing what the other is saying, out of post stress hyperactivity.

Image

Once we work up the courage, we back the car up into the Afghan’s driveway, park it and then walk the rest of the way up to the pass.  On the way, we are stopped by the Police who man the checkpoint up there who are kind to us.  We offer them water, and they give us a tour of that area, pointedly saying that it would be best if next time we should inform them of our desire to visit.  We hit it off very well, and the police officer gives us very detailed information about the area.

Image

We enthusiastically bid farewell, after taking the obligatory group pictures and promising to deliver them next time we were there.  On the way down the mountain, we were stopped suddenly by a large group of Panjsheris, some of which were openly armed, and we were informed that the entire time we were there our presence was noted, and they tracked our every move.  We were requested to contact the community leaders and police prior to returning.   The “request” was in the form of a “if you don’t, we will deal with you in a permanent manner.”

On the way back to our place, we stopped at an Afghan Burgar restaurant and had burgar and Zhela (ice cream), which we ate with hunger born of having just survived certain death and then being confronted by police and an armed militia.  The food tasted marvelous, by the way.

As an addendum, we did return to Khair Khana, several times, in fact, and we became welcome there as if it were a home away from home.

About hotmilkforbreakfast

I am a researcher, a writer, a former soldier, an academic and a lifelong learner. All text and pictures are copyrighted and are not to be used without express permission of the author.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to There’s a Reason Some Roads Are Less Travelled; or How I Almost Killed My Friends. (Part 2 of a 2 Part Story)

  1. danbohmer says:

    ice cream…I would like some ice cream…

  2. Margarita says:

    My heart is still in my throat from that account! Love the happy ending…or ongoing story!

  3. funnyphuppo says:

    I am inspired by how you bring the true Afghan story to the world, rather than the hopelessly one-sided news the media shows. Because of this, I have nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award.
    https://funnyphuppo.wordpress.com/2012/08/17/inspirations-and-awards/

    I am not sure if you have gone through this before, but these are the 3 steps to follow if you choose to accept it:
    1) Backlink to the blogger who gave you the award
    2) Tell us 7 things about yourself that we don’t know yet through your blog
    3) Nominate 15 blogs that inspire you

    • I’m really not sure what you mean. What does “back link” mean, how do I tell these 7 things (on my blog, somewhere else?) and how do you nominate a blog?

      • funnyphuppo says:

        Just write a new post on your blog. You should mention that I nominated you, and use the hyperlink tool to put a link to my blog. Then just write like you usually do, except this time you will tell us 7 personal and new things about yourself that you have not mentioned before on your blog. Then think about the other wordpress authors you follow or greatly respect, and provide links to their blogs. You can look at my post for an example.
        funnyphuppo.wordpress.com

  4. Zok says:

    Drew, photo #3 illustrates something you haven’t elaborated upon in your post. The “road” is not leveled. This photo, as a two-dimensional medium, is not providing an accurate picture, unfortunately, but the road is exceptionally unpleasant to drive. Particularly if one is in a passenger seat. It is much steeper than it appears. All I could see through my window was an abyss.
    Did my life flash in front of my eyes? Most likely, although I cannot fully recollect what exactly happened that very moment. I was way too busy cursing Iowa drivers, which us, South Dakotans, do by default.
    And that ice cream in Taimani never tasted so good.
    P.S. A few weeks later we arrived to the top of this mountain from the other side—equally frightening and nearly as dangerous. That, too, was very close. If Drew did not switch into a lower gear at the very last moment…I stopped trash-talking Iowans since then.

  5. Pingback: In Search of Khorasan | hotmilkforbreakfast

Leave a Reply

