The Here and Now

Well, as many of you have probably figured out, I quit blogging (apparently temporarily) in 2013. After leaving Afghanistan, I’ve managed to get a straight job, and have stayed employed researching first Afghanistan, then Syria, moving on to Ukraine, following the crises of the moment and am now working on projects for Central Africa.

My personal life has been wonderful; I work from home and get to see my family. Both of my daughters are adults now, with one graduating last spring and the other graduating this upcoming. I’m really excited to see where life takes them. To see what adventures they will have.

But now, the echoes of Wanderlust have started running through my head. I’m contemplating a small adventure, soon, and I will attempt to work up the courage to write about it, and maybe take a picture or two.

More later.

About hotmilkforbreakfast

I am a researcher, a writer, a former soldier, an academic and a lifelong learner. All text and pictures are copyrighted and are not to be used without express permission of the author.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Here and Now

  1. Ahmad Kamal Nateqi says:

    Wishing success for you, my dear bro

  2. asterisk says:

    Welcome back! I look forward to reading and perhaps seeing the adventures. Kim*

    http://www.asterisk.com.au

  3. westerner54 says:

    Here’s to working up the courage to write!

  4. It’s not so much working up the courage; it’s trying to figure out why I should.

  5. Ryan Evans says:

    Let me know if you’d ever like to write for War on the Rocks

  6. J, Isenberg says:

    Hurrah, I am always for new adventures, and to live vicariously through the adventures of others. But, given your experiences in Afghanistan, I would also be curious to know what you think of the current situation there. There ought to be a lot more blog posts somewhere in you yet.

  7. Babyboomer says:

    I’d help carry your bags….

  8. “It’s not so much working up the courage; it’s trying to figure out why I should.”
    Because you are a great blogger… interesting, original, expressive, and besides, we need the sort of insight you provide.
    And, c’mon… part of you must enjoy the process of blogging – sifting through your life, your emotions, your experiences. Believe me, I can’t be the only one who has been missing their hot milk for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Welcome back !

Leave a Reply

